Missing My Bus…Twice.

So, a funny thing happened on the way home from an appointment this afternoon.  Not “ha ha” funny- just “of course this happens to me” funny.

I was across the city waiting for the 653 bus to bring me back home.  The 653 is one of those buses that comes around every 10-15 minutes.  I had been waiting for a good ten minutes at the bus stop already.  When the 653 finally did come I MISSED it.  It was half a block away before I noticed I missed it.  So, I resigned myself to waiting another 10 minutes.
Finally after five more minutes I just decided, “oh whatever, I’ll just hop on the 355 that will take me close- not right there, but close enough”
So, I am on 355 and get to my stop to get off.  And I MISSED it.
Finally I decided, “oh whatever, I’m going to just stay on this bus until I get to the end because at least I get to sit down for a minute.”  Of course, it didn’t end where I thought it was going to end (there’s me and my sense of direction) and I ended out in the boonies.
So, I walked and walked.  And it was a nice day, so I walked some more.  I was not exactly wearing the best shoes, but that didn’t seem to matter then.  I walked for about 2 miles.  My bright idea was to retrace my steps back to the stop that I missed.  Then I got lost because I turned the wrong way down a street.  At this point I was just plain hot.  And my feet are screaming, “no, nope, not the right shoes.”  So I hopped on another bus.  When I realized I was going the completely opposite direction, I got off and took a taxi to the original bus stop.  I could have taken the taxi straight to my apartment, but then I’d have to cross highways and go under bridges and go around my hand to get to my thumb, when I could have just walked the remaining half a mile.  So, that’s what I did.
And WHY did I miss both the first bus AND the stop I was supposed to get off??
Because I had a bajillion details running through my head.  I work in Support Services and my job is to make sense of all the legal paperwork for our teachers in China and to place them at various universities across the country.  So, those bajillion details in my head were about visas and documents and this Chinese government organization and schools and documents and this thing wrong and conversation with our finance manager and a conversation with a foreign affairs officer that morning and contracts and charts.  I…Could…Not…Turn…Off…My…Head.
So, I missed my bus…twice.
And that, my friends, is the life of yours truly in Support Services.
It’s time to get off this merry-go-round.  Or bus.
Leave a Reply

