My Habakuk 3

Though the fig tree does not bud, and there are no grapes on the vines,
Though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food,
Though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls,
YET I will rejoice in the Lord, I will be joyful in God my Savior. (Hab. 3:17-18)

Though my bread molds a mere 12 hours after I bought it and there is no breakfast or lunch;
Though my couch is constantly giving me back pain and there are thwarted attempts to get a new one;
Though the internet isn’t working for the umpteenth time and I can’t do my website work or any of those things that pertain to my job as deadlines approach;
Though the battle with visas never seems to end and people on the other end are getting increasingly frustrated and I don’t know what to tell them;
Though a “friend” of mine refuses to engage in honest dialogue, avoids any kind of conflict, and repeatedly causes me much grief;
YET I will rejoice in the Lord, I will be joyful in God my Savior.

Though I am far from home as the season of family birthdays and holidays begins
Though it’s hard to discern, with the changing of roles, the direction I am to go this term and there are no classes to teach;
Though when faced with a decision some people just walk away and reject real Relationship;
YET I will rejoice in the Lord, I will be joyful in God my Savior.

Though I am feeling an incredible lack of motivation after a season of incredible busyness;
Though there is discontentment with some of the structures put in place;
Though many of my friends are facing incredible pain, disappointment, brokenness, and dealing with shattered dreams, and there is absolutely nothing I can do;
Though the desire for real friendship in a city of 19.6 million is just plain hard sometimes;
YET I will rejoice in the Lord, I will be joyful in God my Savior.

Why is that?  Why do I continue to rejoice?

Because He has given me LIFE.  Because He has given me PURPOSE that exists outside of the things that I do and the job that I have and the relationships in which I invest.  Because He continues to give me daily reminders of what in the world this is all about.  Because of who HE is!

YET I will rejoice in the Lord, I will be joyful in God my Savior

Leave a Reply

