Images of Beijing

Today I had to run an errand on the east side of the city, which is territory I am unfamiliar with since I live on the west side of Beijing.  This is an enormous city.  I found myself getting highly frustrated because I don’t have any sense of direction and got lost rather quickly.  I am not normally one who complains a lot, but I felt irritation rise up within me because it was hot, my feet hurt, and I was completely turned around, unable to find my destination.  I said to myself, “I am going to the bus stop and I am going to get on the first bus that comes this way.  I don’t care which bus.  I don’t care where it takes me.  I just want out of here!”

So, that’s what I did.  I got on the first bus that came my way, which was almost empty.  Empty bus means plenty of seats.  I opened the window and just let the breeze come through.  Finally, some peace away from the crowds and the ridiculous attempts to cross streets and highways.

The bus I just happened to take went a route I was completely unfamiliar with, but of which I was pleasantly surprised.  It took me past some of the most beautiful places in Beijing, past lakes and parks.  I got to watch the people walking around on a hot “spring” afternoon.  I found myself in my happy place.

And where did the bus end up?  Back in my neighborhood.  It got me home.  The random bus I picked got me home.  I never got to my destination (we’ll try again another day), but I was surprised by what would happen if I just got on a bus just to see where I would end up.  The Father surprises like that sometimes.

Here are some of the images of which we drove past (pictures taken previously this month, but same location).  Here are some of the more beautiful images of Beijing:




Leave a Reply

