1-11-11

Today is January 11, 2011 (1-11-11).  Only three other times in the century will we come across a date like this.  (this year on January 1, November 1, and November 11).  When I was a kid I was told that whenever the clock strikes 11:11 then you are to make a wish.

There’s something fun attached to numbers and we place more significance in numbers than we think we do.  In China, for example, the number 8 is good and the number 4 is bad.  That’s why the Olympics in Beijing started on 8-8-08, and why you would never bring a gift in groups of four.  Call it superstition, call it fun, but there is a place where a number has real significance.

The number ONE.

I attended a new church last Sunday with my brother and sister-in-law.  We had heard about this church through a bigger congregation that was trying to financially support this new plant.  I walked out of that place refreshed.  Rejuvenated.  Knowing I was involved in real community.

The 724Raleigh church is “a church that exists to help everyday people become spiritually passionate followers of Christ.”  A church whose mission involves connecting (with God and with this family, knowing we are built for relationships), becoming (knowing that this journey is a lifetime proceess), and serving (our community wherever we are, and the world).

On Sunday the lead pastor Lee Towns talked about ONE.  One life.  One mission.  One passion.  Basically, “I want to live my one life in a way that accomplishes my one mission because of my one passion.”

Hear, O Israel, the Lord our God, the Lord in ONE. (Deuteronomy 6:4)
…so that they may be one as we are one. (John 17)

Our one passion: we love God and love what he loves.  If you get the Greatest Commandment right (Matthew 22:34-40), then everything else falls in place and it changes us from the inside out.  When we love God with the totality of our being we will start loving the things that God loves.  Our love story is being defined by who we love.

Our one mission: transforming everyday people into spiritually passionate Christ-followers.

Our one life: To be able to say, “I am here for a purpose and have nothing but more than my one life to give.”

It is loving God in our friendships.  It is loving God in the midst of driving in traffic.  It is loving God in our internet activities.  It is loving God in our shoveling snow.  It is loving God.  My ministry does not come out of my vocation, he said, but out of my Savior.

May we be individuals live our one life for this one purpose.

Leave a Reply

